The Twilight Singers

Twilight As Played By The Twilight Singers

The Twilight Singers - Twilight As Played By The Twilight Singers ©2000 Columbia
1. Twilite Kid
2. That’s Just How The Bird Sings
3. Clyde
4. King Only
5. Love
6. Annie Mae
7. Verti-Marte
8. Last Temptation
9. Railroad Lullaby
10. East 17th
11. Into The Street
12. Twilight

The Twilight Singers was founded by Greg Dulli as a side-project to his day job as the chief songwriter and frontman to the utterly awesome Afghan Whigs (easily the best band to come out of the “grunge” movement), only to put the project on hold in order to record 1965, the Whigs’ swansong. Following his more erstwhile band’s dissolution, Dulli returned to the project, resulting in this hodge-podge and altogether half-assed collection of songs. Twilight as Played by the Twilight Singers is actually a compendium of songs dating from 1997 to 2000, with half of the album comprised of material featuring Greg Dulli trading vocal duties with Howlin’ Maggie’s Harold Chichester and occasional Brad frontman Shawn Smith (Stone Gossard’s side-project to a certain band whose initials are “P” and “J”) over electronic-inflected folk songs. In a way, this half represents a continuation of the more soul-influenced latter-day Whigs material, only it is altogether moodier and softer. The other half of the album is more dance/electronic-influenced, with Dulli taking the helm as sole frontman. The problem with the album on a whole is that neither genre is particularly fleshed-out and it seems that Dully released this album solely to get the mediocrity out of his system. It stands as more of a collection of ideas and demos that would be realized to much greater effect on subsequent releases than a stand-alone album. For that reason, I can only recommend this album to those diehards who eat up absolutely everything Dulli has to offer.

Review by Alec A. Head

Review date: 02/2007

Back to top