Venetian Snares

Picture of Venetian Snares

Greg Hates Car Culture EP

Venetian Snares - Greg Hates Car Culture EP ©1999 History of the Future
1. Personal Discourse
2. Like Tooth Decay
3. Fuck A Stranger In The Ass
4. Point Blank
5. Boiled Angel
6. Cricket Spine Bin
7. Aqap

Thanks to the rise in personal computing power, youngsters worldwide have been able to tackle the philosophical question of "what is music?" and completely destroy the paradigm in the process. No longer is it necessary to go down to the guitar shop, test an axe, and spend the next two years of your life holed away in your bedroom learning scales and chords. Instead, creativity can be channelled through your PC and spent clicking on a mouse.

One particular instance of this shifting model of music making is what is referred to as "breakcore" or "glitchcore" (or any other number of interesting genre markers). Venetian Snares, a project created by Winnipeg's Aaron Funk, is one of the more prominent diplomats of this particular style of electronic music, releasing music at a prodigous rate after his point of entry, 1999's Greg Hates Car Culture. Without a doubt, Venetian Snares is one of the more baffling, exasperating and unusual artists to emerge from the PC realm. This introductory 12" is truly a journey through sound collages that many may fear to take.

Greg Hates Car Culture is a seven song release that is sure to agitate many listeners. Venetian Snares' trademark is the spastic and truly abrasive drum programming, a prominent feature of this sort of music. The rhythms are so aggressive, mixed with various computer noises and sound samples. Each track here is difficult to wade through, as there are many layers and brief sound samples all fighting within the percussion. Venetian Snares throws in occasional familiar samples, such as John Goodman's character from The Big Lebowski teaching young Larry a life lesson about doing wrong to strangers.

People often flippantly remark about such-and-such band's ability to clear any room of one's choice. Venetian Snares' music fills that bill with no hyperbole whatsoever. It is the sort of music that can actively agitate like no other. It is hard to say if this niche of electronic music is a brand new, fresh and inventive take on what qualifies as music or if it's just some kid dinking around on his computer in his bedroom. It very well could be a little of both.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2008

Back to top 

printf("shiver in eternal darkness/n");

Venetian Snares - printf( ©2000 Isolate Records
1. Salt
2. Hours
3. Intense Demonic Attacks
4. Cruel Whole
5. Suasive Chess Strategy
6. Aqap
7. Mouth
8. C8 Diversity
9. Fire is the Devil
10. Molting
11. Punishing the Atoms
12. Stuck
13. Cruel Whole (Abelcain remix)

Reveling in the nerdism of computer generated music, Venetian Snares proudly displays the programmer's dorkorama in the album title printf("shiver in eternal darkness/n");. This 2000 release is a complete and total demented bastardization of the drum and bass genre, and defiantly so. And yes, this is a compliment.

Much like Venetian Snares earlier material, creator Aaron Funk spends the majority of the album's running time whipping breakneck rhythm assaults at the listeners ears. This is a percussive assault on par with the beating most computer nerds got in high school by the jocks and other bullies. printf has about as much of a subtle touch as Henry Rollins attempting to croon any tune by Poison or the Scorpions...and is about as pretty. Much of the album is nonstop rhythm blitzing, with a few samples intertwined within and often at unexpected points. Although Funk does ease up from time to time, there's very little relenting from the juggernaut. This is multiple kicks to the teeth by way of snare and heavily distorted kicks. He does show a knack for more ambient moments, such as "Stuck" or "Fire is the Devil", so listeners do get moments to catch one's breath.

This album, despite the softer interludes, is akin to being battered against a cliff jutting out of an angry ocean, with waves of saltwater percussion stingin your open wounds. Venetian Snares would develop a more subtle touch on later albums, but at this point Aaron Funk apparently reveled in your aural misery.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 03/2009

Back to top 

Rossz csillag alatt született

Venetian Snares - Rossz csillag alatt született ©2005 Planet Mu
1. Sikertelenség
2. Szerencsétlen
3. Öngyilkos vasárnap
4. Felbomlasztott mentokocsi
5. Hajnal
6. Galamb Egyedül
7. Második galamb
8. Szamár madár
9. Hiszékeny
10. Kétsarkú Mozgalom
11. Senki dala

Aaron Funk, the battery and assault artist behind Venetian Snares, has long been associated with his magnificent ability to utterly pummel his audience into a mashed up bag of hipster. Indeed, in his long discography of releases, the majority have been sonically aggressive platters of sheer punishment via CPU cycles and searing percussion gone wild. However, it should be stated that Funk's musical portfolio is surprisingly varied, as Rossz csillag alatt született will definitively prove.

According to lore, the music on this release was inspired after Funk visited Hungary. The resulting effort is derived from classical music and utilizes a wide range of moody strings mixed in with Funk's incomparible percussion assembly line. While any knucklehead with a computer can sit down and throw together some classical samples and strings alongside breakcore beats, it should be noted that Funk's skills allow this material to be seamless. The juxtaposition of beautiful somber stringed instruments alongside the coldness of electronically produced percussion samples requires more than just inserting a random selection of rhythm templates. Unlike many of the other Venetian Snares releases over the years, this one isn't necessarily going to clear rooms of all occupants nor does Funk seem as interested in inflicting aural punishment. The moods captured and created on this album are outstanding.

Venetian Snares has always been stylistically restless, although the project has always retained the vicious breakcore edge. Rossz csillag alatt született demonstrates that Funk has much more in his musical arsenal than a punch in your gut. This is by far one of his most impressive releases and a great starting point if you're looking to dive into the Venetian Snares world.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 02/2010

Back to top