Voodoo Glow Skulls

Band Geek Mafia

Voodoo Glow Skulls - Band Geek Mafia ©1998 Epitaph
1. Human Piñata
2. Symptomatic
3. Love Letter
4. They Always Come Back
5. Walkin' Frustration
6. Yo No Tengo Tiempo (Part Ti)
7. Left For Dead
8. The Band Geek Mafia
9. Brodie Johnson Weekend
10. Delinquen Song
11. Hieroglyphics
12. Misunderstood
13. Hit A Guy With Glasses
14. Stranded In The Jungle

Someone should have told VGS singer Frank Casillas that it's not really a swell idea to place cotton balls in your mouth and contract the mumps before laying down your vocals tracks. And while we're at it, someone should have mentioned to producer Donnell Cameron to make the guitar sound a little more punchy than an armless man in the ring against Evander Holyfield. The result of those two items make Band Geek Mafia a very tepid, uninteresting piece of skacore. VGS may have been at it longer than the ones who are currently enjoying their fifteen minutes, but they won't receive any accolades here. Frank's unbearable mumbling and badly enunciated vocals are like a huge gash on an already soiled mattress. It's not enough anymore to do by-the-numbers hyperkinetic ska these days. The boat has already sailed and it's slowly sinking with an overcrowded crew.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/1998

Back to top