Whitesnake's Greatest Hits

Whitesnake - Whitesnake's Greatest Hits ©1994 Geffen
1. Still Of The Night
2. Here I Go Again (radio Mix)
3. Is This Love
4. Love Ain't No Stranger
5. Looking For Love
6. Now You're Gone
7. Slide It In
8. Slow An' Easy
9. Judgement Day
10. You're Gonna Break My Heart Again
11. The Deeper The Love
12. Crying In The Rain
13. Fool For Your Loving
14. Sweet Lady Luck

If only… If only such a thing as a David Coverdale best-of collection existed, we could get a bunch of great songs - hit tunes from Deep Purple, Whitesnake, and his collaboration with Jimmy Page -and avoid the filler material which clogs this, Whitesnake’s best-of album. Out of fourteen tracks, only eight are worth a listen. At least they come in blocks so it isn’t necessary to hover your hand over the disc player’s skip button.

The disc begins promisingly, with one of Whitesnake’s hardest tracks, the kick-ass “Still Of The Night”. Aaaaarrrrrrgggghhhhh!!! Balls-out ‘80s cheese rock never sounded so good. Next up is the previously unreleased radio mix of “Here I Go Again”, which is normally another of Whitesnake’s hard-charging rockers; this take, however, has a decidedly different, more trebly sound than the album version. Chiming synths take the place of the roaring guitar licks at either end of the chorus, which definitely make the song more radio-friendly but also make me long for the original version. “Is This Love” is a cheesy ballad that is best appreciated as a nostalgia piece, soundtrack to one of the band’s hit video singles (Mmmm…Tawny Kitaen…). The boastful “Love Ain’t No Stranger” begins slowly but soon comes to life and swaggers down the street, intimidating wannabe studs in the likes of Poison and Warrant.

Next come two dull tracks. Like the last three tracks on the album, they’re by-the-numbers tunes. Nothing spectacular. Even the presence of renowned fretmaster Steve Vai on several cuts can’t turn these lumps into gems. Blah. Skip.

Here we go…the good stuff again. “Slide It In” is raunchy, sleazy, and has a cock-rock riff from hell. The same can be said for “Slow An’ Easy”, ‘cept it has lots more blues. Oooh baby. B.B. King shouldn’t’ve turned this one down. The next cut, “Judgement Day”, is another heavy song, slower and more menacing in tone than the rest. It is noteworthy for being at once the only truly good song with Steve Vai on guitar and last truly worthwhile track on the disc. Of slight worth is the next track, the album’s second power ballad, “The Deeper The Love”. If you have a cheese addiction, this will provide your fix. It doesn’t entirely suck…but it’s not that great, either. Once again, strictly by-the-numbers.

Whitesnake’s Greatest Hits is for people who have fond memories of rockin’ out to the parent-annoying sounds emanating from their boomboxes in the days of mullets and Ronnie Raygun. It’s a deeply flawed album that will, hopefully, become unneeded with the advent of a Best Of David Coverdale collection; however, until that day comes, it still beats purchasing Slide It In, Whitesnake, and Slip Of The Tongue.

Review by Jonathan Arnett

Review date: 09/2000

Back to top