Wrathchild America

Climbin' The Walls

Wrathchild America - Climbin' The Walls ©1989 Atlantic
1. Climbin' The Walls
2. Hell's Gates
3. No Deposit, No Return
4. Hernia
5. London After Midnight
6. Candy From A Madman
7. Silent Darkness (Smothered Life)
8. Time
9. Day Of The Thunder

If you ever start a band that builds up a huge reputation based on local live shows and constant touring, let Wrathchild America be a lesson for you. The band was legendary in the mid to late 80's in the Maryland area when they were known simply as Wrathchild. After years of touring, playing gigs, and hard work, the band finally was signed to a major label with all the goodies (y'know, getting your record into smaller markets). However, some British glam band with the same name sued and forced the delay of the debut release. Though the band amended their name by adding America, it was their first huge mistake. They should have just found another moniker and gotten their product out in '88 when the genre was much stronger and could have used an album such as this to kick in the proverbial behind. By the time W.A. had this out, the entire thrash genre was falling to its eventual demise and they had missed the boat. Their subsequent release was far too late and was widely ignored. Even after the band changed their name to Souls at Zero and revamped their stylistic approach, the day had passed on an immensely talented and popular band who should have taken the world by storm.

Oh, about this album. It's pretty cheesy lyrically, but the music is exceptional throughout. "Silent Darkness (Smothered Life)" is creepy, their cover of Pink Floyd's "Time" is very good, and "No Deposit, No Return" contains enough thrashing energy to satisfy any fan. A worthwhile album to check out if you're into the late 80's thrash scene.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 01/1998

Back to top 


Wrathchild America - 3-D ©1991 Atlantic
1. 3-D Man
2. Spy
3. Gentleman Death
4. Forever Alone
5. Draintime
6. Surrounded By Idiots
7. Desert Grins
8. What's Your Pleasure?
9. Prego
10. Another Nameless Face
11. //
12. I Ain't Drunk, I'm Just Drinkin'

The second (and final) album from W.A. is a complex, ambitious project that takes a lot of effort to appreciate, but boy is it worth it! The four members of the band are all very adept at their instruments and take great strides to display it. On the first listen, it's hard to digest all the various time changes, different riff progressions, and parts. But the album slowly comes together to cohesion and draws the listener in. "Desert Grins" proves the guitarists know how to use different effects and chord builds to maximum effect. "Prego", a multi-faceted instrumental, runs the gamut from Black Sabbath riffs to 80's modern metal to classical sounding stuff...hence the name "Prego" (because it's in there). The only straightfoward track is the excellent "Spy", which utilizes a very James Bond-ish bass line. How Metallica made it big with "Enter Sandman" while a very catchy "Spy" gets ignored by the world is beyond me. You should check this out.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 12/1997

Back to top