Wreathy - Leviathan ©2003 Self-Released
1. Leviathan
2. Decay
3. Growing Inwards
4. Isolation
5. Regeneration
6. Confrontation

Wreathy is the creation of one Magnus Puu. His project is a self-described "industrial, neo-classical experimental electronic music" and that description is apt enough for our purposes. Leviathan is comprised of compositions written over the last few years and serves as a very astute introduction to Puu's work. For my ears, Leviathan could be described as a cross between Future Sound of London (Dead Cities era) and traces of Controlled Bleeding's noisier contributions to the 80s. Puu writes very identifiable melodic song structures and uses appropriate rhythms, while occasionally allowing harsh distortion to provide an undercoating to the affair. There are no vocals anywhere on the CD, which is thankful since this music doesn't demand any sort of singing, hooting or hollering. The compositions have good movement and give the listener a sense of being taken somewhere. Moreover, Puu's songwriting is advanced enough that the music never becomes awkwardly predictable.

While not a barnburner of a release, Leviathan is a very interesting introduction to this artist. With any luck his creativity will do nothing but expand over future releases.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 02/2004

Back to top