Wuthering Heights


Wuthering Heights - Within ©1999 Sensory
1. Enter The Cave
2. Hunter In The Dark
3. Too Great Thy Gift
4. Sorrow In Memoriam
5. Dreamwalker
6. The Bird
7. The Wanderer’s Farewell

Take one part Symphony X, add a part or two of Blind Guardian and a healthy dose of Angra, allow to simmer for a while and you’ll have Wuthering Heights. The debut disc from this Scandinavian progressive metal band has a lot to offer fans. The symphonic elements of Symphony X are there. The speed of Blind Guardian is there. The classical elements of Angra are there. When this is combined, it creates a big atmosphere of progressive metal that invites you to stay and listen. I’d place them somewhere on the shelf between Evergrey and Dream Theater for atmosphere, content and overall sound.

The band features some great talent. Most notable, perhaps, is vocalist Kristian “Krille” Andrén formerly of Tad Morose. The technical aspects of the play are exceptional. There is a great deal of music going on in this disc and thanks to the excellent production at Sensory, it is crisp and clear. The music features the changes of tempo and direction that define the parameters of progressive metal. The lyrics are intelligent and well written. The lyricist lists J. R. R. Tolkien among those to whom he owes a debt of thanks. However, this is not your typical overblown “Tolkien metal” disc. No mighty heroes or chanting Vikings slaying dragons or pillaging villages here. These are the songs of a wanderer looking back on the road he has traveled and forward to where he may yet go. Rather than stay safely within the conventions of progressive metal, Wuthering Heights pull out the stops and go all out on this disc throwing in as many nice surprises as they can without making it seem overloaded. The band has a large rich sound making this debut disc a prized find. The songs are long and intricate. "Dreamwalker" tops the list at over thirteen minutes and not a one of them boring. This is a disc that will cause you to hit repeat rather than skip. I look forward to what they may release in the future. You can’t go wrong with this disc.

Review by Matthew Braymiller

Review date: 09/2000

Back to top 

To Travel For Evermore

Wuthering Heights - To Travel For Evermore ©2002 Sensory
1. Behind Tearstained Ice
2. The Nevershining Stones
3. Dancer In The Light
4. Lost Realms
5. Battle Of The Seasons
6. A Sinner's Confession
7. See Tomorrow Shine
8. Though Within To Beyond
9. River Oblivion

I've always sort of wondered what would happen if you cross the wanking tendencies of Stratovarius with a hair band such as Dokken. I think Wuthering Heights has given us the answer. Truthfully, I've never wondered about that and there's not a lot of Dokken in their music, but I do think that the drivel contained on To Travel For Evermore is quite akin to what a hair band attemping power metal might put out. Needless to say, this is a tedious, dreadful album that has made my skin crawl for the duration of listening.

Wuthering Heights is one of those bands who has learned their scales well and knows how to play their instruments with an utmost precision that few can touch. The biggest problem is that they are fully unable to write a song of any value. What is presented on this interminable album is a showcase of their technical abilites. You get an awful lot of notes but not so much in the way of music. They throw together a resemblance to power metal, with a marked influence of early Helloween. They try to jumble things up with strange tempo and rhythm chances, but those just leave me cold and blank. Every song on here is a hodge-podge, mish-mash of ideas that do not intertwine very well. Mostly it just makes me visibly angry and wishing to break anything made of glass. This band soars to the heights of pretention in an instant. Too much blubbering and not enough soul.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 05/2003

Back to top