Picture of Zeke

Super Sound Racing

Zeke - Super Sound Racing ©1995 Scooch Pooch Records
1. Slut
2. Tuned Out
3. Relapse
4. Chiva
5. Quicksand
6. Runnin' Shine
7. Wreckin' Machine
8. Eroded
9. Holley 750
10. Incest
11. West Seattle Acid Party
12. Action
13. Mainline
14. 302 Cubic Inch V-8 Powered Blues
15. Hemicuda
16. Maybe Someday
17. Galaxie 500
18. Highway Star
19. Schmidt Value Pack
20. Rid

I bought this record simply to find a song that ALL and Wretch Like Me have performed in encores over the past couple years. That song, "Runnin' Shine", simply glistens with what Zeke is all about: a straightforward rhythms, super charged guitars, vocals one step behind the Accused, and a whole lot of energy. Setting some land speed records in brevity and velocity, it doesn't take long to get through the Zeke record...twenty four minutes to be exact. Needless to say you won't be reading interviews with Zeke in Guitar World but at the same time their simplicity and pure adrenaline based attack is excellent.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 10/1998

Back to top 

Flat Tracker

Zeke - Flat Tracker ©1996 Scooch Pooch
1. T-500
2. Eddie Hill
3. Chiva Knievel
4. Overkill
5. Mystery Train
6. Viva Agostini
7. Hate
8. Raped
9. Wanna Fuck
10. Fight in the Storeroom
11. Flat Track
12. Bitch
13. Daytona
14. Super Six
15. Eliminator

Much like the band's debut, Zeke's Flat Tracker finds this Seattle based, Dwarves influenced band sticking to the racing cover art theme, which frankly doesn't make much sense beyond the general intensity and tempo of Zeke's music. If I'm flipping through the channels and accidentally land on the Speed channel featuring motocross, I do not instantly think, "Wow, Zeke should be doing the theme song!" Biker bar, sure. But not that fancy-pantsing motorcycle racing. Zeke demonstrates very little change in their formula from their debut. Flat Tracker zips fifteen tracks past you in less than twenty minutes. This is a good thing since they say any exercise regiment requires at least fifteen minutes of up tempo activity. Therefore, it should stand to reason that personal trainers would approve of Zeke. Ask them the next time you visit the gym.

As with the Dwarves, Zeke oozes sleaze, substance abuse and a few nights lost in a haze of inebriation. Did bandleader Blind Marky Felchtone vomit during the songwriting of this album? More than likely. Some of these songs are just full out speed demons, with a straight up 4/4 drumming and riffs moving by at lightning speed. There's no doubt about the energy here. Dynamics and subtle nuances, however, were left at the studio door (and then beat up by Zeke's bassist after sunset).

Zeke could be seen as a poor man's Dwarves (hey, there's that name again!), but have just enough fun in their music to be worth a listen. Just don't expect profound revelations regarding the nature of the universe while listening.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 05/2010

Back to top 

Kicked In The Teeth

Zeke - Kicked In The Teeth ©1998 Epitaph
1. God Of GSXR
2. Telepath Boy
3. Rodney
4. Twisted
5. Dogfight
6. Kicked In The Teeth
7. Fuck All Night
8. Revolution
9. Killer Inside
10. Lawson
11. Revolution Reprise
12. Goggle Boy
13. Zeke You
14. Porked
15. Aces High
16. Shout It Out Loud
17. Mert

Next time you're in the mood to be abruptly pummelled by a CD, make sure you put Zeke on. Raging through seventeen tracks in twenty minutes or so, the Motorhead-meets-Ramones (but only after being fueled by amphetamines) onslaught of Zeke is as refreshing as a bucket of ice cold water being dumped on your head while taking a hot shower. Zeke knows but one drum pattern--a simple 4/4 straight ahead beat--that is either fast or mid paced. The guitars are heavy distorted punk riffs over a screamed and yelled vocalist. It all sounds the same but with such a short playing time, you don't get bored with it as you would if they dragged this out for a full hour or so. Guaranteed to be great live and invigorating for mosh sessions in the privacy of your own bedroom, Zeke is just dandy.

Review by John Chedsey

Review date: 10/1998

Back to top 

Death Alley

Zeke - Death Alley ©2001 Aces & Eights
1. Crossroads
2. Live Wire
3. Jack Torrance
4. Evil Dead
5. Arkansas Man
6. Shockwaves
7. Mountain Man
8. Evil Woman
9. The River
10. Night Rider
11. Into The Night
12. On The Run
13. Animal
14. Road Ahead
15. Eyes Of Satan
16. Death Alley

After the ill-received Dirty Sanchez, Zeke's first (and last) record for the Epitaph label, the future seemed to be in a bit of limbo for the punk-fueled Seattle rockers. Rumors of a breakup began to circulate as the band themselves began claiming that they were disappointed with the way Dirty Sanchez turned out. Why so many seem to dislike that record I will never understand. I personally love it and rank it as my second favorite out of their entire discography.

It was not long after the band was dropped from Epitaph that I managed, via a friend of the band, to get my grubby little hands on a five song studio sessions CD. To say that I was blown away would be an understatement. The new tunes were simply amazing. In fact, after engaging in tape trades with certain people whom were likewise blown away, these five songs essentially secured the band an article in two high profile rags (Metal Maniacs and Kerrang). The new material found the band combining their ultra-intense, punk-ish brand of rock n' roll with classic metal: namely the twin lead guitar mastery of Iron Maiden and a heavy dose of Motorhead. I prayed the band would find a decent label and release a full albums worth of this brilliant mayhem. October 2001 saw my prayers answered via the amazing sixteen track, twenty-eight and one half minute long Death Alley, the first release for the Supersucker's Aces & Eights label.

Where to begin? Lets just say that Zeke have improved in every aspect of their game. Lyrically, the album delves into psycho/satanic/horror-movie-watching/biker territory while the musical recipe shapes up a bit like this: take the elements of classic Zeke, thicken the guitars up a bit, add a truckload of blistering lead guitar and sprinkle in a dose or two of swampy southern groove here and there. The only element the band has toned down in the slightest are Blind Marky Felchtone's (now referred to as Mark Of The Beast, by the way) vocals. Hell, after his sickeningly harsh performance on "Dirty Sanchez" it's a wonder the guy even has a voice left.

As for the songs - damn, I love every one of em. So much so that it would be pretty pointless for me to try and highlight personal favorites. "Jack Torrance" and "Evil Dead" are both destined to be horror inspired classics, while "Eyes Of Satan" is pure early 80's Venom. "Arkansas Man" and the ending to "The River" are groove heavy, southern psycho-boogie heaven. "Evil Woman" slows the pace down a bit, bringing classic Halford-era Judas Priest to mind. Need I say more?

These Zeke guys are onto something exciting here. While bands like The Crown and Six Feet Under combine trace elements of rock with death metal (commonly referred to as "Death N' Roll"), Death Alley finds Zeke combining classic metal, Motorhead and Venom with their already over-the-top brand of rock n' roll. Go fetch yourself a copy of Death Alley and spend some quality time disturbing the neighbors peace. And be careful if you "Zeke and drive", as playing music this powerful in the car could easily land one with a nice collection of speeding/wreckless driving offenses. You've been warned...

Review by Mike Rutherford

Review date: 12/2001

Back to top